Skip to main content

The New Hit Musical You Have To See: Dear Evan Hansen

Submitted by solomon on Tue, 02/06/2018 - 12:41
image of dear evan hansen
Pic: Youtube / Screenshot

Dear Evan Hansen hit the Broadway scene back in 2015, instantly making a name for itself with its extremely talented cast and crew, beautiful music score, and deeply emotional performances.

What is Dear Evan Hansen?

Dear Evan Hansen is a hit Broadway musical that started in Washington D.C in 2015. By 2016 it had landed itself in the midst of the New York Broadway scene. Written by Steven Levenson and composed by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul, it pulled the heartstrings of teenagers and adults alike. The musical focuses on the life of Evan Hansen, a teenager suffering from severe social anxiety, who finds himself stuck in a lie that he can’t escape from following a classmate’s death.

Where can you see the show?

Dear Evan Hansen is currently only showing in New York, America at the Music Box Theatre. However, a tour around the U.S starting in Denver has been announced for October 2018 and an original London production has also been announced for some time during the same year.

Who features in the show?

The musical follows the lives of eight separate people all connected by one lie: Connor Murphy (played by Mike Faist), Zoe Murphy (played by Laura Dreyfuss), Larry Murphy (played by Michael Park), Cynthia Murphy (played by Jennifer Laura Thompson), Evan Hansen (played by Ben Platt), Heidi Hansen (played by Rachel Bay Jones), Jared Kleinman (played by Will Roland) and Alana Beck (played by Kristolyn Lloyd). Ben Platt however, ended his run as Evan Hansen on the 19th November 2017, being replaced by Noah Galvin who will continue the role until January this year.

Has it won any awards?

In the year it has been on Broadway, Dear Evan Hansen has won a total of six Tony Awards (being nominated for nine) and two Drama League Awards (being nominated for three). Off-Broadway it was even winning awards, including two Obie Awards and one Drama Desk Award.

By Molly